Cannot use javahl, JavaSVN nor command line svn client

This post has been moved to http://srinichekuri.com/2014/02/14/cannot-use-javahl-javasvn-nor-command-line-svn-client/

*********************************************************************

I was working on a old project that had all build files that were working fine when coded originally. I tried using the same files and I ran into this issue.

Error: Cannot use javahl, JavaSVN nor command line svn client

Research:
I have googled on this and I was able to find two feasible solutions that apparently worked for others.

  1. javahl.dll or svnjavahl.dll files have to be appended to PATH variable. This solution didn’t work for me. First of all I didn’t find these files and even if would have found them, I wouldn’t have done it as changing PATH variable was not an option for me.
  2. Download a svn client like silksvn and install it. This will put in a PATH variable which will in turn help fixing the issue. This was not an option either as I was not willing to install a software for something that was supposed to work stand alone.

Solution:
After multiple trails this is what worked for me.

  • I downloaded the latest SvnAnt (svn 1.2.x at time of documentation).
  • I replaced svnant.jar, svnClientAdapter.jar, svnjavahl.jar files that were preexisiting and added svnkit.jar.
  • Add these files to classpath in ant script. (No changes done to PATH variables or any other system level variable)
<typedef resource="org/tigris/subversion/svnant/svnantlib.xml">
 <classpath>
 <pathelement location="C:/svnAnt/lib/svnant.jar"/>
 <pathelement location="C:/svnAnt/lib/svnClientAdapter.jar"/>
 <pathelement location="C:/svnAnt/lib/svnjavahl.jar"/>
 <pathelement location="C:/svnAnt/lib/svnkit.jar"/>
 </classpath>
 </typedef>

Hope this helps!!!

Leave a Reply

